The Little Gallery, the space dedicated to the Louvre's artistic and cultural education for children, is interested with "Théâtre du Pouvoir" at link between art and political power from antiquity to the present day.

Theater of Power: Art at the service of power

The exhibition shows the links that power has with art:

Theater of Power shows how from antiquity to the present day art has been used as a tool of communication by the power. The exhibition also shows how art can become a propaganda tool when he is in the service of power. Sovereigns and artists have always maintained close relations. It is this relationship that this exhibition explores throughsome forty emblematic works.
President Emmanuel Macron, advancing alone on the evening of his election in the courtyard of the Louvre to be cheered by the crowd, has continued the tradition according to which to govern is to foresee that the media will be there. Under Louis XIV, the strategies of propaganda were not so far apart. Communicators of power then used oil paint!

An exhibition conceived in 4 stages:

"Theater of Power", with a beautiful scenography restoring the atmosphere of ceremony, is very educational. The exhibition is conceived in 4 stages: the Prince's figures, propaganda, the ancient world, the insignia of power. The first room presents the different "figures of the prince", from the king-builder to the priest-king. The second room highlights the figure of Henry IV, both king in search of legitimacy and style. The third room focuses on the "antique model". The last room includes the "insignia of power". Throughout the exhibition, 3D scanning, animations, slideshows, cartels and digital serials make the visit very lively.

The Petite Galerie: the Louvre's educational space for young audiences

The Petite Galerie du Louvre offers an alternative to the Louvre's classic visit for young audiences. Starting from the observation that the Louvre can be perceived as too big, too imposing, poorly adapted to both children and teens, the Louvre Museum has opened this space especially for young audiences - beautiful colors, simple graphics, neat lighting. From now on every year "Little Gallery" explores a cross-cutting theme thanks to major works from prehistory to contemporary creation. It is about raising awareness of the young audience through a singular encounter with various works of art. Each year, an exhibition presents, around a chosen theme, some forty original and multidisciplinary works, from the collections of the Louvre and also from other national museums. In our opinion, the Petite Galerie is also very suitable for the older ones!

Practical information


Timetable:
View schedule details - The museum is open every day from 9h to 18h except Tuesday - The museum is open at night until 21:45 on Wednesdays and Fridays. Closed on May 1st, August 15th, December 25th, January 1st

Write A Comment

La Petite Galerie, l’espace dédié à l’éducation artistique et culturelle du Louvre pour les enfants, s’intéresse avec “Théâtre du Pouvoir” au lien entre l’art et le pouvoir politique depuis l’Antiquité jusqu’à nos jours.

Théâtre du Pouvoir : l’Art au service du pouvoir

L’exposition montre les liens que le pouvoir entretient avec l’art :

Théâtre du Pouvoir montre comment depuis l’antiquité jusqu’à nos jours l’art a été utilisé comme un outil de communication par le pouvoir. L’exposition montre aussi comment l’art peut devenir un instrument de propagande lorsqu’il est au service du pouvoir. Souverains et artistes ont depuis toujours entretenu des relations étroites. C’est cette relation qu’explore cette exposition au travers d’une quarantaine d’oeuvres emblématiques.
Le président Emmanuel Macron, s’avançant seul  le soir de son élection dans la cour du Louvre pour se faire acclamer par la foule a perpétué la tradition selon laquelle gouverner, c’est prévoir que les médias seront là. Sous Louis XIV, les stratégies de la propagande n’étaient pas si éloignées. Les communicants du pouvoir se servaient alors de la peinture à l’huile !

Une exposition conçue en 4 temps :

“Théâtre du Pouvoir”, avec une très belle scénographie reconstituant l’ambiance de cérémonie, est très pédagogique. L’exposition est conçue en 4 temps : les figures du Prince, la propagande, le monde antique, les insignes du pouvoir. La première salle présente les différentes “figures du prince”, du roi-bâtisseur au roi-prêtre. La seconde salle met en exergue la figure d’Henri IV, à la fois roi en quête de légitimité et modèle. La troisième salle se concentre sur le “modèle antique”. La dernière salle regroupe les “insignes du pouvoir”. Tout au long de l’exposition, numérisation en 3D, animations, diaporamas, cartels et feuilletons numériques rendent la visite très vivante.

La Petite Galerie : l’espace pédagogique du Louvre pour le jeune public

La Petite Galerie du Louvre propose une alternative à la visite classique du Louvre pour le jeune public. Partant du constat que le Louvre peut être perçu comme trop grand, trop imposant, mal adapté tant aux  enfants qu’aux ados, le musée du Louvre a ouvert cet espace spécialement pour le jeune public — belles couleurs, graphisme simple, éclairage soigné. Désormais chaque année “la Petite Galerie” explore un thème de manière transversale grâce à des oeuvres majeures depuis la préhistoire jusqu’à la création contemporaine. Il s’agit de sensibiliser le regard du jeune public grâce à une rencontre singulière avec des oeuvres d’art variées . Chaque année, une exposition présente, autour d’un thème choisi, une quarantaine d’oeuvres originales et pluridisciplinaires, issues des collections du Louvre et mais aussi d’autres musées nationaux. A notre avis, la Petite Galerie convient aussi très bien aux plus grands !

Infos pratiques


Horaires :
Voir les détails des horaires - Le musée est ouvert tous les jours de 9h à 18h excepté le mardi - Le musée est ouvert en nocturne jusqu'à 21h45 le mercredi et le vendredi. Fermé le 1er mai, 15 août, 25 décembre, 1er janvier

Écrire un commentaire