Exhibition at the Pompidou Center

THE EXHIBITION "Matisse, like a novel

  • WE LOVE : a very beautiful retrospective of a painter very accessible to the young public
  • AGE: for all, from 6 years old in free visit. Family workshops from 2 years old
  • DATE: Until February 21, 2020
  • LOCATION: Pompidou Center (Paris 4th)

Matisse, like a novel: the new exhibition at the Centre Pompidou

  • On the occasion of the 150th anniversary of the birth of Henri Matisse (1869-1954), the Centre Pompidou pays tribute to him with an exhibition that brings together major works, some of which have not been seen in France since the great retrospective devoted to Matisse in 1970 at the Grand Palais.
  • The exhibition presents more than 230 works and 70 documents and archives.
  • Divided into 9 "chapters", the route is chronologicalfrom its beginnings around 1890 to the 1950s. 
  • The exhibition attempts to explore the text/image intricacy within Matisse's work. "The importance of an artist is measured by the quantity of new signs that he has introduced into the language of art": Henri Matisse. 
  • This painter, sculptor, draughtsman, engraver wanted to find "a writing for each object".
  • Each of the nine sequences of the exhibition is illuminated by the view of an author on the work of Matisse Louis Aragon, Georges Duthuit, Dominique Fourcade, Clément Greenberg, Charles Lewis Hind, Pierre Schneider, Jean Clay and Henri Matisse himself. The exhibition questions Matisse's relationship to all forms of writing ? from the plastic sign to the word.
  • A major exhibition.

The TOP EXHIBITIONS of the moment

Practical information

Write A Comment

I subscribe to the newsletter

small envelope for Newsletter

Exposition au Centre Pompidou

L’EXPO “Matisse, comme un roman”

  • ON AIME : une très belle rétrospective d’un peintre très accessible au jeune public
  • ÂGE : pour pour tous, dès 6 ans en visite libre. Ateliers famille dès 2 ans
  • DATE : Jusqu’au 21 février 2020
  • LIEU : Centre Pompidou (Paris 4e)

Matisse, comme un roman : la nouvelle exposition du Centre Pompidou

  • À l’occasion du 150e anniversaire de la naissance d’Henri Matisse (1869-1954), le Centre Pompidou lui rend hommage avec une exposition qui réunit des œuvres majeures, dont certaines n’ont pas été vues en France depuis la grande rétrospective consacrée à Matisse en 1970 au Grand Palais.
  • L’expo présente plus de 230 œuvres et 70 documents et archives.
  • Découpé en 9 “chapitres”, le parcours est chronologique, allant de ses débuts, vers 1890, jusqu’aux années 1950. 
  • L”exposition tente d’explorer l’intrication texte/image au sein de l’œuvre de Matisse. « L’importance d’un artiste se mesure à la quantité de nouveaux signes qu’il aura introduits dans le langage plastique » : Henri Matisse. 
  • Ce peintre, sculpteur, dessinateur, graveur voulait trouver « une écriture pour chaque objet ».
  • Chacune des neuf séquences de l’exposition est éclairée par le regard d’un auteur porté sur l’œuvre de Matisse : Louis Aragon, Georges Duthuit, Dominique Fourcade, Clément Greenberg, Charles Lewis Hind, Pierre Schneider, Jean Clay et Henri Matisse lui-même. L’exposition interroge la relation de Matisse à toutes les écritures – du signe plastique au mot.
  • Une exposition majeure.

Le TOP des EXPOS du moment

Infos pratiques

Écrire un commentaire

Je m'inscris à la Newsletter

petite enveloppe pour Newsletter